Tony Sanchez tagging out a runner... in the good ole days before the MLB collision rule.

Tony Sanchez 'Good Ole Days' Tweet Says All You Need to Know About MLB Home Plate Collision Rule


Tony Sanchez sent out a tweet that says it all about the MLB Home Plate collision rule—the Buster Posey rule.

We weren’t going to add any more words, but thought you might be able to understand the frustration the Pirates catcher must have with the new rule. But if you thought it bothered you, imagine a Major League catcher like Sanchez.

Thanks to yesterday’s fiasco at home plate in the game against the Chicago Cubs, the new rule made it all over the national baseball world today…. although the rule wasn’t used yesterday, we can’t help but think it had an impact.

Try to enjoy.

The rule Rule 7.13: (1) A runner attempting to score may not deviate from his direct pathway to the plate in order to initiate contact with the catcher (or other player covering home plate). If, in the judgment of the Umpire, a runner attempting to score initiates contact with the catcher (or other player covering home plate) in such a manner, the Umpire shall declare the runner out (even if the player covering home plate loses possession of the ball). In such circumstances, the Umpire shall call the ball dead, and all other base runners shall return to the last base touched at the time of the collision. Rule 7.13 Comment: The failure by the runner to make an effort to touch the plate, the runner’s lowering of the shoulder, or the runner’s pushing through with his hands, elbows or arms, would support a determination that the runner deviated from the pathway in order to initiate contact with the catcher in violation of Rule 7.13. If the runner slides into the plate in an appropriate manner, he shall not be adjudged to have violated Rule 7.13. A slide shall be deemed appropriate, in the case of a feet first slide, if the runner’s buttocks and legs should hit the ground before contact with the catcher. In the case of a head first slide, a runner shall be deemed to have slid appropriately if his body should hit the ground before contact with the catcher. (2) Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as he is attempting to score. If, in the judgment of the Umpire, the catcher without possession of the ball blocks the pathway of the runner, the Umpire shall call or signal the runner safe. Notwithstanding the above, it shall not be considered a violation of this Rule 7.13 if the catcher blocks the pathway of the runner in order to field a throw, and the Umpire determines that the catcher could not have fielded the ball without blocking the pathway of the runner and that contact with the runner was unavoidable.

Ummm…what?

Next Pirates Game View full schedule »
Friday, Aug 2929 Aug7:05Cincinnati RedsBuy Tickets

Tags: Pittsburgh Pirates

  • HUNTERVIC

    Understandable

    In the good old days, the runner would have been dead meat, but with the new rule(s) included herein there is little wonder why Sanchez was confused. So in order to avoid such a repeat, any catcher should slap it to the runner and let the manager and the umps ferret it out. Let the new interpretation be “rather bruise than lose.”

  • JBubs

    Rule 7.13 is wordy. But I think the rule means that the intent of the runner must be to touch the base and the intent of the catcher must be to tag the runner. A runner cannot deliberately contact the catcher. The catcher cannot deliberately contact the runner. A base cannot be deliberately blocked but may be blocked incidentally in the act of catching the ball. Thus all collisions must be incidental to the act of running and catching. As for the play at the plate, the throw to home plate was clearly in fair territory so Tony was required to field the ball in fair territory. If Tony had positioned himself a bit more in front of the plate and clearly in fair territory as he fielded the throw instead of first straddling the plate which resulted in his left foot being placed in front of the plate before he caught the ball, he would not have been called for blocking. I could be wrong, but that is how I read the rule.