Andrew McCutchen nominated for Hank Aaron Award

PITTSBURGH, PA - SEPTEMBER 27: Andrew McCutchen /

Pirates’ center fielder Andrew McCutchen has been named a finalist for a prestigious award

Every year Major League Baseball presents a pair of players with the prestigious Hank Aaron Award. The award named after the former home run king is given to reward offensive excellence in baseball.

One player in each league wins the Hank Aaron Award each season. Each Major League team has a finalist for the award before the league-wide winners are announced during the World Series each season.

Tuesday afternoon Major Leauge Baseball announced each finalist for the Hank Aaron Award. To no surprise, the Pittsburgh Pirates’ finalist is center fielder Andrew McCutchen.

As was said above, Andrew McCutchen being named the Pirates’ finalist is no surprise. In 2017 he led the team in wOBA (.360), wRC+ (122), slugging percentage (.486), home runs (28), and offensive WAR (19.9). McCutchen was second on the team in on-base percentage (.366), ISO (.207), and he was third in walk rate (11.2 percentage).

Joining Andrew McCutchen as National League nominations are: Freddie Freeman (Braves), Travis Shaw (Brewers), Tommy Pham (Cardinals), Anthony Rizzo (Cubs), Paul Goldschmidt (Diamondbacks), Cody Bellinger (Dodgers), Buster Posey (Giants), Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins), Michael Conforto (Mets), Ryan Zimmerman (Nationals), Jose Pirela (Padres), Odubel Herrera (Phillies), Joey Votto (Reds), and Charlie Blackmon (Rockies).

The winners will be determined by voting from both fans, as well as a panel of ex-players.

Next: Three major offseason questions for the Pirates

The Hank Aaron Award has been presented yearly since 1999. No Pittsburgh Pirates’ player has ever won the award before. Hopefully, Andrew McCutchen will become the first to do so later this month.

Kris Bryant was the National League recipient of the award in 2016, while David Ortiz took home the hardware in the American League.